Wolfeboro/Gilford
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Letter from My Friend in Iraq...

Go down

Letter from My Friend in Iraq... Empty Letter from My Friend in Iraq...

Post  News Hawk Wed May 29, 2013 1:25 pm

My war story -

"Flash-Dry" (From about 2006)

'Wife found the true story about what happened on my way to Ramadi...

"Man, you wouldn't believe what just happened yesterday! We were down on the Euphrates River below Haditha Dam, heard the strangest thing! Was a rumbling, kind of like a Bradley Fighting Vehicle, but higher pitched. Being a contractor, I just got back in the up-armored MRAP parked in the shade of the only palm tree near enough that we could see what was going on and still be in the shade - that is REAL important out here. Heck, who knows what the insurgents might have snuck over the border from Iran...

Anyway, the Marines all sort of hunkered down, looking up river, where the sound was coming from. The captain in charge of the convoy - we were on a convoy, had stopped to take care of.... Nature.... Anyway, the captain got up on the hood of one of the MRAPs so he could see better or hear better or something...

Now we had been there at that place for a few minutes when this sound started coming. I was a little uneasy stopping outside the wire in the first place, but, being an old guy, I wasn't about to miss a chance to... take care of Nature... but we all knew that this was "Injun Country" - "The Badlands" - and I was just a passenger, hitching a ride from Haditha to Ramadi, and beggars can't be choosers, so...

Anyway, as I was saying, everyone just got down behind whatever they could and tried to figure out what we were hearing. Some of the guys went over to the bank of the river and were looking upstream. It didn't sound like a motor boat, but you can never tell what the bad guys could come up with!